Convocation Wrap Up: Special Awards

Printer-friendly version

Despite the rain, the convocation ceremony and reception were well attended by faculty, staff, friends and family of the graduands as they all came together to recognize the students for their hard work, perseverance and the achievement of this great milestone in their life.

The event was held on June 6th at Convocation Hall, where several alumni volunteers gave graduates a pin welcoming them into the alumni family. A reception was held at the iSchool followed by announcing who won awards. See photos from the event and a list of the award recipients below.

MISC Outstanding Instructor Award: Dr. Keren Dali


ROM Visitor Engagement Award: Orysia Goddard
Given to a MMSt student or group who have made important contributions to visitor engagement at the ROM. 

The AGO Visitor Experience Award: Elyse Rodgers
Recognizes the outstanding contribution of Museum Studies students in the advancement of education, interpretation, and visitor studies research at the Art Gallery of Ontario. This award celebrates the collaboration between the Museum Studies program and the AGO through internships, independent studies and practicum.

The Ukrainian Heritage Association and Museum of Canada Award in Museum Studies:
Naomi Goldman, Vanessa Tamburro, & Tobie Miller
Awarded to a graduating MMSt student with a demonstrated research interest in some aspect of museums and history/culture of Ukrainians in Canada.

Canadian Museums Association (CMA) Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: Chelsea Jeffery Rachel Wong Kristin Martin & Tobie Miller
Awarded to the 3 highest GPAs. 

Dean’s Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement: Chelsea Jeffery
Awarded to graduand who ranks highest in the MMSt program.


ARMA (Association of Records Managers & Administrators) Toronto Chapter Award: Nathan Moles
Awarded to the full-time student with the highest academic standing in a Managing Organizational Records course or courses.

Toronto Area Archivists Group Award: Lisa Christine Harrison
Awarded to the graduand with the highest academic achievement in the Archives and Records Management path of the MI program.

Margaret Canning Public Librarian Prize: Rhiannon Myers
Awarded to a graduating student who has taken the Information Professional Practicum course and has best demonstrated success in their placement.

Rare Books and Manuscripts Award: Catherine Falls
Awarded to the graduating student who ranks highest in this course.

Kathleen Reeves Memorial AwardJesse Carliner
Awarded to the graduating student who ranks highest in INF2158H Management of Corporate and Other Special Information Centres.

Gertrude Boyle Award in Cataloguing: Hajime Naka & Mauri Rosenstock
Awarded to the graduating student(s) who ranks highest in an elective cataloguing/classification course. 

Douglas Armstrong Memorial AwardSimren Singh & Nikki Sutherland
Awarded to a student with demonstrated career interests in the application of new technology in library and information science who has taken courses dealing with the automation of library and information systems and services.

Toronto Health Libraries Association Annual Prize in Health Sciences Librarianship: Yvonne Gao
Awarded to the student who ranks highest in INF2135H Health Sciences Information Resources

Ontario Library Board’s Association Award: Rachael Yaverbaum
Awarded to a graduand who has taken one or more elective courses in Administration – Library and Information Centres-related courses 

Beta Phi Mu Letters of Achievement. Awarded to students with a GPA of 3.9 or higher.
Olive Au, Rebekah Bedard, Jesse Carliner, Catherine Falls, Brian Griffin, Cynthia Griffioen, Lisa Harrison, Erica Hendry, Rachel Klassen, Alexandra Kwan, Rhiannon Myers, Laurie Near, Rebecca Niles, Gabriel Resch, James Roussain, Justin Scherer, Michelle Kelly Schultz

Ontario Library Association (OLA) Anniversary Prize: Gabriel Resch
Awarded to the graduand who ranks highest in the MI program.